Sign in to follow this  
yank_eh

Help for a Rookie Art Teacher

All of the sudden I'm an art teacher :blink: I just graduated with an art degree this summer (with no teaching credentials) and in a matter of one week I became a grade 8/9 art teacher at a small Christian school as an emergency hire.

Needless to say I am a little unprepared and am scrambling to come up with good assignments, let alone a whole cohesive curriculum!

So I'm wondering if any of you have any good ideas for art assignments/projects for a class of 20 with next to no supplies or funding. Maybe some of you are art teachers. Or maybe you remember your favourite art project from school. Or you just have some good ideas.

Anything (Ideas, advice, resources) will help!

Thanks!

First of all, congratulations! You're in a position to make some key contributions in the lives of these 20 students, and I wish you well.

Can you narrow this down a little bit -- are you teaching art appreciation/history, or are you dealing with artistic expression? Are you dealing with just visual arts, or are you teaching music or literature as well? And what are the constraints you are working under: budget, theology, subject matter or anything else?

And what are YOU excited about? What have you learned that you hope all Grade 8/9 students also learn?

Ok, Tim, a quick reply now and hopefully a more thorough one later.

The course is called Visual Art. Art History and Art Appreciation will play a minor supporting role but the emphasis is on art-making skills, visual literacy, and the ability to talk intelligently about art and visual culture.

Budget: unknown but very limited. I have to come up with a plan and talk with administration and then supplement whatever they give me by asking the parents to fork over more dough.