Sign in to follow this  
LibrarianDeb

NYC

I'm just starting my research for things I'd like to do while I'm in NYC with the husband. Are there any plays, music, museum exhibits, readings etc I *need* to see while I'm there?

I'm just starting my research for things I'd like to do while I'm in NYC with the husband. Are there any plays, music, museum exhibits, readings etc I *need* to see while I'm there?
As a long-time NYC resident, I would recommend doing a little bit of both tourist traps, and a little bit of hidden treasures.

The tourist traps are easy. No need for me to reiterate them. I think there's a special coupon, btw, which hits five of the big major ones, including Empire State Building and the Circle Line (which I highly recommend if the day's sunny).

The hidden treasures? Go to a Jazz Club. Go to "Rachel Ray's Tasty Travels" and pick out a few quality restaurants and stores (I've gone to "The Dip" in Murray Hill). Pick up a Time Out NYC (they may have a copy at your Border's/B&N) to get a feel for the restaurant and museum scene.

I would recommend also doing a tourist walk, like through Greenwich Village. Good exercise, and a very intimate way to know the sights and sounds of everything there.

One of our joys a few years ago was a walk across the Brooklyn Bridge, visit to Jacques Torres Chocolate (the hot chocolate with chilis is wonderful), then took the el to the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens.

As a long-time NYC resident, I would recommend doing a little bit of both tourist traps, and a little bit of hidden treasures.

The tourist traps are easy. No need for me to reiterate them. I think there's a special coupon, btw, which hits five of the big major ones, including Empire State Building and the Circle Line (which I highly recommend if the day's sunny).