Sign in to follow this  
J.A.A. Purves

Words & Phrases Banned from Your Vocabulary

As a writer, I've grown to love and revere the English language. But I'm also realizing that there are words and phrases that I just can't stand. In order to preserve the beauty of the English language, there are things I would eliminate from both spoken and written English if I could. For example:

agreeance

emerging

embourgeoisement

historicity

holistic

interrelationship

macro-level and micro-levels

meme

meta-narratives

meta theory

missional

nexus

on-message

paradigm

pinterest

power constructs

power structures

problematize

self-actualized

social constructs

synergy

“gone viral”

“come on now”

“do you know what I mean”

“if you know what I mean”

“like I said”

“my bad”

“that was dope”

While some slang originates out of cultural tradition, I'm also starting to think that some slang originates out of no cultural tradition at all. The result is a bastardized psuedo English that isn't even worthy of being called slang. For example:

diss, dope, hella, homie, like, lol, meh, pimpin, omg, woot, word, wtf

What about you, do you have words or phrases that you are determined never ever to use in your writing?

Edited by J.A.A. Purves

snip

You forgot "musical Pinterest"!

A few that come to mind:

"quirky" as a description for anything, but especially in music reviews. To me, that translates as, "you're too lazy to actually describe what's going on."

"Here at ____." I don't know why this bugs be, but I avoid it.

"___, you know?" No, I don't know.

Edited by Jason Panella

diss, dope, homie, word, pimpin are not cultural orphans. they're from urban hip hop, and if I'm not mistaking, are the very essence of slang.

word may even be rooted in the african american call and response church tradition, but I'm speculating.

You forgot "musical Pinterest"!

Added.