CrimsonLine

God's Not Dead (2014)

This is the first I've seen of this movie, which has some intriguing qualities to it, IMHO.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bMjo5f9eiX8&feature=share&list=UUKRU6yh8rHqmRuX2htuFDNg - Full trailer. 

Is Dean Cain playing... Satan? The first few bits of the trailer, with Dean Cain and the Robertsons, seem like they are from a different movie than the rest of it. Also, it seems kind of like a Christian college student's fantasy. But I guess a lot of it will depend on how the film plays out the conflict. Certainly, I have had a lot of experiences with Christian college students being challenged sharply over their faith by atheistic professors. And I do know stories (and have been part of one story) in which Christian students helped bring atheistic professors to faith. So I'm curious how this one is going to play out.

Anders   

The challenges this film faces include avoiding setting up the professor as a kind of straw man athiest, playing into the worst kind of Evangelical persecution complexes, and not presenting the student's argument in a way that goes beyond platitudes and actually engages in philosophical arguments. Can't say the outlook is good based on the trailer.

Edited by Anders

I agree, Anders. But I'm curious to see how it works in execution.

Also, it seems kind of like a Christian college student's fantasy. But I guess a lot of it will depend on how the film plays out the conflict. Certainly, I have had a lot of experiences with Christian college students being challenged sharply over their faith by atheistic professors. And I do know stories (and have been part of one story) in which Christian students helped bring atheistic professors to faith. So I'm curious how this one is going to play out.