Sign in to follow this  
Tyler

Harper Lee - Go Set a Watchman

Harper Lee's second novel, Go Set a Watchman, which she actually wrote before Mockingbird, will be published in July.

"In the mid-1950s, I completed a novel called 'Go Set a Watchman,'" the 88-year-old Lee said in a statement issued by Harper. "It features the character known as Scout as an adult woman, and I thought it a pretty decent effort. My editor, who was taken by the flashbacks to Scout's childhood, persuaded me to write a novel (what became 'To Kill a Mockingbird') from the point of view of the young Scout.

"I was a first-time writer, so I did as I was told. I hadn't realized it (the original book) had survived, so was surprised and delighted when my dear friend and lawyer Tonja Carter discovered it. After much thought and hesitation, I shared it with a handful of people I trust and was pleased to hear that they considered it worthy of publication. I am humbled and amazed that this will now be published after all these years."

Edited by Tyler

So, Mockingbird was set from 1933-35 (the movie compressed the time frame), and Scout is 9 at the end. Assuming Lee wasn't writing about the then-future, Watchman would be set in the mid-50s, making Scout around 30.

So the gap between the novels is 20 years, but the movie about young Scout was made over 50 years ago. I guess they can't film the new novel with the original actress, then.

WHAT WHAT WHAT WHAT

awesome.

Edited by Joel

Twitter responds.

My favorite, from a tweeter called Liberty:

Go Set a Watchman: In which Boo Radley is caught in an intrinsic field subtractor, and is now a hairless blue guy, called Blue Radley.

From Jezebel: Be Suspicious of the New Harper Lee Novel