Sign in to follow this  
Tyler Beane Kelly

Films about Trauma and Resiliency

Hi all, I am participating in a Trauma and Resiliency summit coming up in my local community and have been asked to speak to the power of film with respect to this topic. I am a Lutheran pastor and film lover with some ideas I could use but would love to mine the wisdom of this group as well.

Do any films and especially specific short film clips come to mind when you think about Trauma and Resiliency? 

A couple of initial ideas I had were:

Robin Williams' 'It's not your fault' scene with Matt Damon in Good Will Hunting.

The kids escaping from Robert Mitchum into the boat in The Night of the Hunter.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Two Days, One Night and Rosetta come to mind as films about women enduring difficult circumstances in the midst of emotional pain, particularly related to their pursuit of employment.

I think of recent films about human endurance defying all odds of survival--Gravity, All is Lost, The Impossible, The Martian, 127 Hours.

Upstream Color is a bizarre but beautiful film about people who have been hurt or violated in some way, and their subsequent healing and attempts to understand why this trauma happened to them.

There's a scene in Short Term 12 where a teenager shares a rap song he wrote with a foster care employee, where he's using his art to process his pain. It's a powerful moment in the film (there is some language, I believe, so depending on your audience, it may or may not be effective).

Darren H