Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Peter T Chattaway

Oscars 2018: Best Animated Short

Recommended Posts

The 63 films in contention:

  • The Absence of Eddy Table – Rune Spaans (Norway)
  • Among the Black Waves – Anna Budanova (Russia)
  • Ben and Big – Rowan Grey Sutherland (USA)
  • Bullet Time – Frodo Kuipers (Netherlands)
  • Call of Cuteness – Brenda Lien (Germany)
  • Coin Operated – Nicholas Arioli (USA)
  • Confino – Nico Bonomolo (Italy)
  • Cop Dog – Bill Plympton (USA)
  • Cradle – Devon Manney (USA)
  • A Dad – Robert Cambrinus (Austria)
  • Darrel – Marc Briones, Alan Carabantes (Spain)
  • Dear Basketball – Glen Keane (USA)
  • E-delivery – Young Gul Cho (USA)
  • Ein Aus Weg – Simon Steinhorst, Hannah Lotte Stragholz (Germany)
  • Eternal Hunting Grounds – Elin Grimstad (Norway/Estonia)
  • Everything – David OReilly (USA)
  • Flutter – Vladimir Todorov (Bulgaria/USA)
  • Follow Your Heart – Rob O’Neill (USA)
  • Fox and The Whale – Robin Joseph (Canada)
  • Garden Party – Florian Babikian, Vincent Bayoux, Victor Caire, Theophile Dufresne, Gabriel Grapperon, Lucas Na (France)
  • Goose in High Heels – John Dilworth (USA)
  • Green Light – Seongmin Kim (South Korea)
  • Hedgehog’s Home – Eva Cvijanović (Canada/Croatia)
  • Here’s the Plan – Fernanda Frick (Chile)
  • Hold Me (Ca Caw Ca Caw) – Renee Zhan (USA)
  • Hugo Bumfeldt – Éva Katinka Bognár (Hungary)
  • I Am Little Red – Mary Mazzio, Gabriel Osorio, Alec Sokolow (USA)
  • I Like Girls – Diane Obomsawin (Canada)
  • In A Heartbeat – Beth David, Esteban Bravo (USA)
  • In a Nutshell – Fabio Friedli (Switzerland)
  • An Island – Rory Byrne (Ireland)
  • La Casa de Colores (The House of Colors) – Nicolás P. Villarreal (Argentina)
  • Life Smartphone – Chenglin Xie (China)
  • Lost Property Office – Daniel Agdag (Australia)
  • Lou – Dave Mullins (USA)
  • Love – Réka Bucsi (Hungary/France)
  • A Love Story – Anushka Kishani Naanayakkara (UK)
  • Min Börda (The Burden) – Niki Lindroth Von Bahr (Sweden)
  • Mr. Madila – Rory Waudby-Tolley (UK)
  • My Heart Attack by Sheldon Cohen (Canada)
  • Negative Space – Ru Kuwahata, Max Porter (France)
  • Nighthawk – Špela Čadež (Slovenia/Croatia)
  • Nothing Happens – Michelle Kranot, Uri Kranot (Denmark/France)
  • Once A Hero – Xia Li (USA/China)
  • Panic Attack! – Eileen O’Meara (USA)
  • Puppy – Genndy Tartakovsky (USA)
  • Pussy – Renata Gasiorowska (Poland)
  • Radio City Maniapolis – Georgia Patterson (USA)
  • Revolting Rhymes – Jan Lachauer, Jakob Schuh (Germany/UK)
  • Song of a Toad – Kariem Saleh (Germany)
  • Spring Jam – Ned Wenlock (New Zealand)
  • Strange Case – Zbigniew Czapla (Poland)
  • The Talk: True Stories About the Birds and the Bees – Alain Delannoy (Canada)
  • The Tesla World Light – Matthew Rankin (Canada)
  • Threads – Torill Kove (Canada/Norway)
  • Ugly – Nikita Diakur (Germany)
  • Valley of White Birds – Cloud Yang (China)
  • Wednesday with Goddard – Nicolas Ménard (UK)
  • Weeds by Kevin Hudson USA)
  • We’re Going on a Bear Hunt – Joanna Harrison, Robin Shaw (UK)
  • Whatever the Weather – Remo Scherrer (Switzerland)
  • Wicked Girl – Ayce Kartal (France)
  • World of Tomorrow, Episode 2: The Burden of Other People’s Thoughts – Don Hertzfeldt (USA)

Ten films will make the shortlist in December. The final five nominees will be announced January 23.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

The 10-movie shortlist:

  • “Cradle,” Devon Manney, director (University of Southern California)
  • “Dear Basketball,” Glen Keane, director, and Kobe Bryant, writer (Glen Keane Productions)
  • “Fox and the Whale,” Robin Joseph, director (Robin Joseph)
  • “Garden Party,” Victor Caire and Gabriel Grapperon, directors (MOPA)
  • “In a Heartbeat,” Esteban Bravo and Beth David, directors (Ringling College of Art and Design)
  • “Life Smartphone,” Chenglin Xie, director (China Central Academy of Fine Arts)
  • “Lost Property Office,” Daniel Agdag, director, and Liz Kearney, producer (8th in Line)
  • “Lou,” Dave Mullins, director, and Dana Murray, producer (Pixar Animation Studios)
  • “Negative Space,” Max Porter and Ru Kuwahata, directors (Ikki Films)
  • “Revolting Rhymes,” Jakob Schuh and Jan Lachauer, directors (Magic Light Pictures)

Some contenders are online in their entirety (I haven't watched any of these yet):

And some have released only clips and trailers :

I haven't found any decent-quality versions of (or clips from) Dear Basketball yet.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

The Annie Award nominees in this category:

  • Dear Basketball
  • Hedgehog's Home
  • Negative Space
  • Scavengers
  • Son of Jaguar

See above re: Dear Basketball and Negative Space. Of the other three films, two are online:

And one has a trailer:

The winner will be announced February 3.

Edited by Peter T Chattaway

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this