Sign in to follow this  
kenmorefield

Chess

This guy's chess channel on YouTube is phenomenal. Might not be for a total newbie, but you certainly don't have to be an expert. His series on Fisher-Spassky really shows an insight into which moves are critical and why and thus helps you understanding strategy.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCL5YbN5WLFD8dLIegT5QAbA

He's doing a nice analysis of Carlsen-Caruana World Championship match.

Apparently Woody Harrelson is a Chess follower and confirmed that he is making Carnage, fwiw. He was also called upon to make the ceremonial first move and...messed it up! (Caruana said e4 and Woody thought he said d4!

It's been awhile since I've been abreast of chess happenings, but apparently the rules have changed for World Championship so that if no winner is determined by a preset number of games they go to...blitz games?

Apparently the development of deep-thinking AI has changed the nature so that players can play to time control and then use computer helps to find lines through equal positions. Essentially, if I understand correctly, this makes people play not to lose by sticking with variations or lines that they are thoroughly familiar with--or familiar enough to recognize losing moves far enough in that they can play for draws every time. 

I confess this both makes perfect sense and is somewhat sad.

On 11/16/2018 at 1:10 PM, kenmorefield said:

It's been awhile since I've been abreast of chess happenings, but apparently the rules have changed for World Championship so that if no winner is determined by a preset number of games they go to...blitz games?