Sign in to follow this  
Doug C

Campbell's "Artists of Faith" Series

Just wanted to say that I thoroughly enjoyed Ken and my presentations last night at Campbell University. I hope this is a series Ken continues with other speakers. He presented on Dreyer, and I presented on the Dardennes. We had about 80 students, and they seemed very engaged and asked questions afterward. Given that I met Ken here at A&F many moons ago, I thought I would mention it here.

artistsoffaith-768x1024.png

Edited by Doug C

10 hours ago, Doug C said:

I presented on the Dardennes

Doug, would you be willing to send me your notes on your Dardennes talk? I'm doing a PhD on them, and your chapter in Ken's "Faith and Spirituality" book is one of the better things I've read on them--and phenomenology is a significant part of my approach, so your title is intriguing. You can email me at jmayward (at) gmail.

Sorry, Joel, I don't really have notes, or at least readable ones. I was drawing from a lot of different sources and just giving them an intro (I only had 20 minutes).

Hi Doug, I echo Christian's and Russ's sentiments (in the other thread) that it's always a pleasure to see you, whether it is at an event like the one we shared or for a few moments poking your head into A&F to say hi. I appreciate your encouragement and insights over the years.

Joel, as a layman listener to Doug's presentation, I would say it was not radically different from the book chapter you reference but was, as is appropriate, more foundational as an introduction. For more on phenomenology, Doug recommended V, Sobchack's The Address of the Eye