kenmorefield

State of the Forum -- Spring 2020

I am a university professor by vocation, so this time each year I am filling out annual reports -- a task I like a little less than going to the dentist. (My dentist is actually very nice.) But I've come to see some value in periodic nods towards transparency, so I thought i would institute an annual (let's see if it comes back next year) State of the Forum Report. The format is intended to be simple: 1) My overall assessment of forum health; 2) Strengths; 3) Weakness; 4) Invitation for questions or comments.

1) Overall State of Arts & Faith

By most metrics, I think we are in decent shape. I would describe the state of A&F as "stable." No bills are outstanding, and most (hosting, domain registration) are paid through the end of the year. The one exception is software licensing from Invision, which I often find more convenient to renew in 6 month increments rather than annually. 

A&F is currently hosted on a Virtual Public Server (I don't really know what that means, which I'll get to in "weaknesses") which also hosts my personal blog, 1More Film Blog, and the website for tne North Carolina Film Critics Association. The upside of such an arrangement is that we can share hosting cots (right now I pay a third, NCFCA pays a third, and a third is paid for via voluntary donations by A&F members). The downside is that it would be harder (and more expensive) to hand over the A&F part of it so some other/different administrator. I've made sure at least one person -- Joel -- has the necessary administrative and account passwords with the webhost to ensure the lights stay on if anything happens to me.