Sign in to follow this  
The Baptist Death Ray

Let's talk about songwriting

I don't know if this thread will really catch on or not, but there's a lot of talk in this forum focused on reviewing other people's music and there doesn't seem as much talk about how you go about creating your own. I'm really interested in that... while I'm sort of in the middle of being an author right now I consider myself a musician first, and I've been writing and recording since oh, 1990 or thereabouts... and I like to hear how other people do what I do, because I've never really heard two musicians describe it in quite the same way, though they all *do* tend to have at least one story that starts "well I was fooling around in the studio one day..." smile.gif

So I figured hey, I'll start a thread that talks about "the process" and see if anyone joins in. Please join in. Please. Pleeeeeeeeease... smile.gif

I'll start.

While I don't have a "set in stone" process of songwriting there is a process that 90% of the songs I'm most pleased with share, and *that* process is almost exactly identical. Alas, I've never been able to duplicate it intentionally, but each time I describe a song by saying "the whole thing sort of clicked" this is what happens:

A lot of times it first starts by hearing another song. The song will usually have a piece of it that really grabs me, only to wind up going off in a direction that I think dilutes the really good bit. The piece that grabs me can be either music or lyrics or combination of the two.