Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
chrismo

Gilmore Girls

15 posts in this topic

My lovely wife got me hooked on Gilmore Girls a few seasons ago. Recently two bad things have occurred. First, I've see all the episodes so far this season. Second, we got a TiVo on Thanksgiving.

Courtesy of the ABC "I'm glad I'm not related" Family channel and the little men inside my TiVo box, I watched the pilot the other night and just finished half of episode 1.4.

Anyone out there watch this show? What's happened to it? Please give the writers back their caffeine, don't let Mr. Amy direct anything again, kill the dog ... whatever it takes. I'm afraid this show is going to get Friends-itis.

I could've sworn I searched the forums first -- but it was around midnight. Thx for the redirect.

Chrismo... Denton, huh? Do you/did you go to UNT? I graduated from there with an RTVF degree. Fond memories.

The complete series is 80% off today at Amazon.

Would it be too evil a thing to get a single set for niece and sister, who love this series?  The niece just started college a couple hundred miles away from mom, so the logistics of who gets to watch first could be fun for a sinister uncle/brother.

Or you could just get them a Netflix subscription to share.

The complete series is 80% off today at Amazon.

Hmph.  I think I paid around $100 for it when we bought it for my oldest daughter for her fifteenth birthday in '12.  This past summer she rewatched it with her sister, who was approaching fifteen.  I think we got our money's worth.

Anyone catch the revival on Netflix yet?  We're 3 episodes in, with 1 to go.  I still haven't seen seasons 6 or 7, so read up on them to have a little more context.

So far, so good (though the stupid musical in ep 3 didn't need to be more than 3 minutes long to show me it was a stupid musical.  20 minutes--ugh.).

I think episodes 1 and 2 are strong. 3 and 4 are much weaker (there's some atrocious padding there), but still have their moments.