Sign in to follow this  
the hipster

Stop-motion animation [Was: Claymation]

I am thinking about making a claymation/stop-motion short for my college portfolio. I will be using a standard video camcorder. How do I make the motion fluid and not as jerky. It is harder to do since I will not be doing it frame-by-frame. Any ideas will be appreciated!

Edited by SDG

I'm no expert, but I imagine if you don't know where to begin you should start with this book. I'm about to begin it myself.

FWIW, this may not be out in time for what you're doing, but HollywoodJesus.com contributor (and Vancouver resident) Ken Priebe has this book on stop-motion animation coming out in July.

Hey Peter...surprise! Even before I have a login, I'm mentioned on this board already! Weird. Thanks for the plug! My book will be available as of July 18. Just met Ron Reed for the first time recently and he directed me to this board. Looking forward to connecting.

Ken Priebe

For anyone in Vancouver or close to it...

VanArts, Sophia Books & ACM Vancouver SIGGRAPH present a special event for

Stop-Motion & Computer Animation

Ken Priebe (Author of The Art of Stop-Motion Animation)

Anthony Scott (Nightmare Before Christmas, Corpse Bride, A Bugs Life, Toy Story 2)

Larry Bafia, Head of 3D Animation at VFS (Antz, Mars Attacks)

Wednesday, November 29

SDG   

For the release of The Boxtrolls: my latest for Catholic Digest.

Stop-Motion Macabre: Why do we love creepy movies about animated puppets?