Games inferior as art?

• Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 theoddone33

theoddone33

• 763 posts

Posted 04 December 2005 - 12:10 AM

Link here, down at the bottom: Link

This is something that's interesting to me because I work in the video game industry and I have recently been wanting to turn my A&F blog into an occasional commentary on the artistic merits of various video games.

Ebert's answer is simple... games are inherently inferior art because they require player choices rather than authorial control. My disagreement with Ebert's position is simple: it's false. Games do not give up authorial control just because they allow player choices. In fact, many games are as linear as a book or movie, but hide that fact with varying degrees of success.

However, given the potential that interactive storytelling has an artistic medium, I think games have a long way to go. Ebert is right when he says that few video games can be compared with great works of art in other field. But the potential is there, and the interactivity inherent in video games at least in theory allows for works surpassing those of other fields, I believe.

#2 opus

opus

Supernatural Blood Sprinkling Victory Package

• Administrator
  • 4,029 posts

Posted 04 December 2005 - 12:21 AM

I'm with you on this one, oddone. I definitely think that games have tremendous potential, both for gamers to experience incredible stories in a very unique way, and for creators to tell incredible stories in a very unique way. Unfortunately, the reality is something of a catch-22. The games that strive for this ideal are often ignored by the public, and the video game industry isn't exactly the paragon of artistic excellence and creativity.

...I have recently been wanting to turn my A&F blog into an occasional commentary on the artistic merits of various video games.