Blog Strategies

I am new to the blogging world, but finding it suits me well.

I've gotten significant traffic, as best I can measure. (I'm seeing about 30-40 unique visitors daily). Not bad for an amateur site. But I'd like to move to the next level. I've recently added categories, which are a bit of a chore on Blogger, and that's helped get some of my older posts read. And I have made just over 10 bucks on my ads!

Thoughts on the following?

How can I get more traffic? - I'm registered at technorati and a link to my blog is in every email and message board signature I have.

Is it taboo to include personal pics of my kids from time to time? If I'm hoping to get strangers to see my site, is it bad that every dozen or so I post my kids smiling faces? Does it make it feel amateurish? I suspect so, but I'm too close to judge.

Is there a way to bury relevant keywords in my html so search engines will find me quicker?

I make it a rule to have some sort of image with every post. I find it makes it much easier to read. Pitchers is purdy!! Anybody else think this is important?

Thoughts, tips? I've read a few articles and they were mildly helpful but I'd love to hear from the dozen or so folks around here who have very similar blogs (in scope, content, and style).

Dan

Edited by DanBuck
How can I get more traffic? - I'm registered at technorati and a link to my blog is in every email and message board signature I have.