Sign in to follow this  
Darrel Manson

Shattered Glass

Anyone else seen it? My review is up.

I thought it very good. Interesting dual telling of story - one version by Glass and one where you see what happened. Also amazing how much people want to believe in someone they like. Even as things were falling apart, people seemed to want to find something to believe.

Thanks! Your write-up makes me want to see this one.

I USED to be a journalism teacher ...

Haven't seen this one myself yet, but I'm definitely eager to. FWIW, I thought Katrina Onstad's review in the National Post was interesting:

Everyone likes to be the centre of attention, and so journalists have been eagerly anticipating the release of Shattered Glass, a true story about them. But when I explained the film's premise to my non-journo boyfriend with the excitement of a computer geek anticipating a new version of software -- "Star magazine writer Stephen Glass revealed as fraud!" -- his eyes glazed over. "An entire movie about fact checkers?" he yawned. And the boyfriend has an advantage over most moviegoers: He knows what fact checking is.

Shattered Glass isn't the final word on the decay of journalistic ethics -- Glass's perjuries were far too extreme to be anything but anomalies -- but it's a solid office movie that hints at a different set of problems currently eating away at the profession.

In the late '90s, Glass, a suck-up rich kid, was a hot reporter at the D.C. newsmagazine The New Republic, a journal then staffed by the young, eager and righteous. Three times a day, according to the film, someone would sombrely announce: "This is The New Republic," the way a priest declares: "This is the Bible." Their other favoured catchphrase was the no-less-humble "The New Republic is the in-flight magazine of Air Force One!" Still, circulation topped off at about 81,000.