Brian Blade & the Fellowship Band-- Seasons of Changes

Josh Hurst

This is exciting! I remember Thom's recommendation of Blades' work a couple of years ago, but my explorations of his recommendations were very limited. Now I have an album to latch on to, perhaps a gateway to his other work.

"What matters are movies, not awards; experiences, not celebrations; the subjective power of individual critical points of view, not the declamatory compromises of consensus." - Richard Brody, "Godard's Surprise Win Is a Victory for Independent Cinema," The New Yorker

This is exciting! I remember Thom's recommendation of Blades' work a couple of years ago, but my explorations of his recommendations were very limited. Now I have an album to latch on to, perhaps a gateway to his other work.

I have very little experience with his past albums, actually, but I do know that the dynamic of the band is a bit different on this album, as they've lost their pedal steel player-- who was in many ways their calling card, the thing that set them apart. Then again, I'm pretty sure Thom's review at AMG, or perhaps some of his comments here at A&F, come pretty close to calling this Blade's best album yet.

Partner in Cahoots

www.cahootsmag.com

Very cool. I'm listening now.

Just curious: This set is hosted by someone named Josh Jackson. Isn't there a Josh Jackson associated with Paste Magazine? Could this be the same guy?

Anyway, back to the music...

"What matters are movies, not awards; experiences, not celebrations; the subjective power of individual critical points of view, not the declamatory compromises of consensus." - Richard Brody, "Godard's Surprise Win Is a Victory for Independent Cinema," The New Yorker

• 2 weeks later...

Bought this last night, with Joe Henry's Civilians. I've listened twice, and so far this is the better of the two CDs, IMHO. 8O But that's a stupid comparison; the music on the two CDs is vastly different, of course.