Shearwater - The Golden Archipelago

ole-861.jpg

We're going to need a thread for this one. Shearwater's latest comes out on February 23; I'm listening to it for the first time today, and I am immediately very impressed with it. These guys are making some of the most effortlessly beautiful, melodic, and epic music in all of indie rock, and this one seems to be very much on par with Rook.

Any other fans?

Partner in Cahoots

www.cahootsmag.com

I think one of my co-workers has this, and has been spinning it every now and then. I'll have to double-check with them.

I love the cover art.

"I feel a nostalgia for an age yet to come..."
Opus, Twitter, Facebook

• 4 weeks later...

It's streaming at NPR.

I'm on my second listen through. The first two tracks are incredibly haunting; the rest needs to sink in more. This is my first time with Shearwater. It's been a while since a band grabbed my ears so strongly on first listen.

I've been listening to this pretty much non-stop since I got it. This is my first Shearwater album as well, and I'm pretty entranced by it right now. The first two tracks are exceptional, but I think my favorite song is "Hidden Lakes".

FWIW, it strikes me that Shearwater might be the true successors to Talk Talk's throne.

Edited by opus

Opus, Twitter, Facebook

Opus, your Talk Talk comment is dead on!

Okay, I'm convinced. I need to hear this. I thought Rook was good, not great. But comparisons with Talk Talk (and I assume this is Spirit of Eden/Laughingstock Talk Talk, right?) will surely get my attention. I greatly look forward to hearing the new album.

It's also worth noting that Shearwater's drummer is named Thor. This, in itself, is a wondrous thing. But he's also really good, and he's one of the principle reasons why Shearwater is a much better band than, say, Midlake, which employs a similar sonic approach.

Edited by Andy Whitman