Sign in to follow this  
Tony Watkins

Movies and the OT prophets

OK, so it's my first time posting here in absolutely ages and I start back with asking for help. It's rather low, I know, but I still feel part of A&F even if I don't come here all that often anymore. Anyway, enough self-justifying preamble. . . .

Some of you know that one of my particular passions is the Old Testament prophets. I'm giving a lecture soon on 'the prophets go to the movies', which is looking at how the prophetic books relate to the world of film. I'm not primarily interested in times when films quote passages from the prophets (though as far as I can tell, that's quite rare so I am still interested in such times - Knowing is probably the most obvious example), but in how some of the themes within the prophets come up in movies. I have some examples already, of course, but I would really value the collective insights of my friends here to help me find more. And I think this might be a subject to make some A&Fers start salivating!

My guess is that there are a number of posts here which might cover one or other of them, but there's so much here that I find it hard to unearth such things (there's too much variation in wording to find good search terms). So although I've looked through dozens of threads, I've not unearthed much.

Some of the themes which might be worth thinking about, with just a few examples off the top of my head:

Idolatry - plenty of examples of this: success/money (e.g. Jerry on the phone in Jerry Maguire); independence (e.g. Clooney's 'no baggage' philosophy in Up in the Air); power (e.g. something in All the King's Men), etc. There's a great line in Elizabethtown: 'Success was the only god the entire world served.'

Injustice - Wilberforce confronted with slavery in Amazing Grace; something in Prince Caspian?; grasshoppers demanding more food in A Bug's Life; 'Fairness, justice and freedom are more than words, they are perspectives' in V for Vendetta;