Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Peter T Chattaway

Oscars 2019: Best Foreign Language Film

Recommended Posts

The submitted films (with the ones I've seen in bold; bizarrely, I have never even heard of the Canadian film, and the only time it has ever been mentioned in my e-mail archives is in a press release that mentions an actor who happens to be in it):

  • Afghanistan, “Rona Azim’s Mother,” Jamshid Mahmoudi, director;
  • Algeria, “Until the End of Time,” Yasmine Chouikh, director;
  • Argentina, “El Ángel,” Luis Ortega, director;
  • Armenia, “Spitak,” Alexander Kott, director;
  • Australia, “Jirga,” Benjamin Gilmour, director;
  • Austria, “The Waldheim Waltz,” Ruth Beckermann, director;
  • Bangladesh, “No Bed of Roses,” Mostofa Sarwar Farooki, director;
  • Belarus, “Crystal Swan,” Darya Zhuk, director;
  • Belgium, “Girl,” Lukas Dhont, director;
  • Bolivia, “The Goalkeeper,” Rodrigo “Gory” Patiño, director;
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina, “Never Leave Me,” Aida Begić, director;
  • Brazil, “The Great Mystical Circus,” Carlos Diegues, director;
  • Bulgaria, “Omnipresent,” Ilian Djevelekov, director;
  • Cambodia, “Graves without a Name,” Rithy Panh, director;
  • Canada, “Family First,” Sophie Dupuis, director;
  • Chile, “…And Suddenly the Dawn,” Silvio Caiozzi, director;
  • China, “Hidden Man,” Jiang Wen, director;
  • Colombia, “Birds of Passage,” Cristina Gallego, Ciro Guerra, directors;
  • Costa Rica, “Medea,” Alexandra Latishev, director;
  • Croatia, “The Eighth Commissioner,” Ivan Salaj, director;
  • Czech Republic, “Winter Flies,” Olmo Omerzu, director;
  • Denmark, “The Guilty,” Gustav Möller, director;
  • Dominican Republic, “Cocote,” Nelson Carlo De Los Santos Arias, director;
  • Ecuador, “A Son of Man,” Jamaicanoproblem, director;
  • Egypt, “Yomeddine,” A.B. Shawky, director;
  • Estonia, “Take It or Leave It,” Liina Trishkina-Vanhatalo, director;
  • Finland, “Euthanizer,” Teemu Nikki, director;
  • France, “Memoir of War,” Emmanuel Finkiel, director;
  • Georgia, “Namme,” Zaza Khalvashi, director;
  • Germany, “Never Look Away,” Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, director;
  • Greece, “Polyxeni,” Dora Masklavanou, director;
  • Hong Kong, “Operation Red Sea,” Dante Lam, director;
  • Hungary, “Sunset,” László Nemes, director;
  • Iceland, “Woman at War,” Benedikt Erlingsson, director;
  • India, “Village Rockstars,” Rima Das, director;
  • Indonesia, “Marlina the Murderer in Four Acts,” Mouly Surya, director;
  • Iran, “No Date, No Signature,” Vahid Jalilvand, director;
  • Iraq, “The Journey,” Mohamed Jabarah Al-Daradji, director;
  • Israel, “The Cakemaker,” Ofir Raul Graizer, director;
  • Italy, “Dogman,” Matteo Garrone, director;
  • Japan, “Shoplifters,” Hirokazu Kore-eda, director;
  • Kazakhstan, “Ayka,” Sergey Dvortsevoy, director;
  • Kenya, “Supa Modo,” Likarion Wainaina, director;
  • Kosovo, “The Marriage,” Blerta Zeqiri, director;
  • Latvia, “To Be Continued,” Ivars Seleckis, director;
  • Lebanon, “Capernaum,” Nadine Labaki, director;
  • Lithuania, “Wonderful Losers: A Different World,” Arunas Matelis, director;
  • Luxembourg, “Gutland,” Govinda Van Maele, director;
  • Macedonia, “Secret Ingredient,” Gjorce Stavreski, director;
  • Malawi, “The Road to Sunrise,” Shemu Joyah, director;
  • Mexico, “Roma,” Alfonso Cuarón, director;
  • Montenegro, “Iskra,” Gojko Berkuljan, director;
  • Morocco, “Burnout,” Nour-Eddine Lakhmari, director;
  • Nepal, “Panchayat,” Shivam Adhikari, director;
  • Netherlands, “The Resistance Banker,” Joram Lürsen, director;
  • New Zealand, “Yellow Is Forbidden,” Pietra Brettkelly, director;
  • Niger, “The Wedding Ring,” Rahmatou Keïta, director;
  • Norway, “What Will People Say,” Iram Haq, director;
  • Pakistan, “Cake,” Asim Abbasi, director;
  • Palestine, “Ghost Hunting,” Raed Andoni, director;
  • Panama, “Ruben Blades Is Not My Name,” Abner Benaim, director;
  • Paraguay, “The Heiresses,” Marcelo Martinessi, director;
  • Peru, “Eternity,” Oscar Catacora, director;
  • Philippines, “Signal Rock,” Chito S. Roño, director;
  • Poland, “Cold War,” Pawel Pawlikowski, director;
  • Portugal, “Pilgrimage,” João Botelho, director;
  • Romania, “I Do Not Care If We Go Down in History as Barbarians,” Radu Jude, director;
  • Russia, “Sobibor,” Konstantin Khabensky, director;
  • Serbia, “Offenders,” Dejan Zecevic, director;
  • Singapore, “Buffalo Boys,” Mike Wiluan, director;
  • Slovakia, “The Interpreter,” Martin Šulík, director;
  • Slovenia, “Ivan,” Janez Burger, director;
  • South Africa, “Sew the Winter to My Skin,” Jahmil X.T. Qubeka, director;
  • South Korea, “Burning,” Lee Chang-dong, director;
  • Spain, “Champions,” Javier Fesser, director;
  • Sweden, “Border,” Ali Abbasi, director;
  • Switzerland, “Eldorado,” Markus Imhoof, director;
  • Taiwan, “The Great Buddha+,” Hsin-Yao Huang, director;
  • Thailand, “Malila The Farewell Flower,” Anucha Boonyawatana, director;
  • Tunisia, “Beauty and the Dogs,” Kaouther Ben Hania, director;
  • Turkey, “The Wild Pear Tree,” Nuri Bilge Ceylan, director;
  • Ukraine, “Donbass,” Sergei Loznitsa, director;
  • United Kingdom, “I Am Not a Witch,” Rungano Nyoni, director;
  • Uruguay, “Twelve-Year Night,” Álvaro Brechner, director;
  • Venezuela, “The Family,” Gustavo Rondón Córdova, director;
  • Vietnam, “The Tailor,” Buu Loc Tran, Kay Nguyen, directors;
  • Yemen, “10 Days before the Wedding,” Amr Gamal, director.

The nominees will be announced January 22. There will probably be a shortlist before then.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

The shortlist (with the ones I've seen in bold):

  • Colombia, “Birds of Passage”
  • Denmark, “The Guilty”
  • Germany, “Never Look Away”
  • Japan, “Shoplifters”
  • Kazakhstan, “Ayka”
  • Lebanon, “Capernaum”
  • Mexico, “Roma”
  • Poland, “Cold War”
  • South Korea, “Burning”

The nominees will be announced January 22.

Edited by Peter T Chattaway

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this