Sign in to follow this  
MetroFilmProduktion

Content and Intent

I’m new to this site and have been reading some of the posts about profanity in Christian films. I believe that the depiction of violence is an even more important and related consideration.

But to both of these concerns, my position as a filmmaker is that intent is the key.

Looking to the Bible, most especially the Hebrew Scriptures, we see murders, rapes, tortures and during the siege of Jerusalem, a dispute between two women over the eating of their babies.

But these things are there in order to forward God’s message and purposes.

As a filmmaker, I will use profanity and violence if it is there to achieve an end that I am comfortable with in my heart.

Tarantino - no

Dreyer, Pasolini and Tarkovsky - yes

Edited by MetroFilmProduktion
Misspelling

8 hours ago, MetroFilmProduktion said:

I’m new to this site and have been reading some of the posts about profanity in Christian films. I believe that the depiction of violence is an even more important and related consideration.

Greetings. Should you feel so inclined, the Introductions thread allows people to get a sense of new participants and allows new participants to indicate some of their interests.

Judging another's intent seems more difficult to me than judging a work of art, but I agree (and I think I've heard others here say so as well) that these sorts of discussions often strain at the gnats of language and swallow the camels of violence. It's interesting that you list Pasolini as one of your two "yes" examples. I found Salo nearly impossible to watch all the way through, though I suspect his intent in making the film was to say something about violence and fascism that was true.