Moviegoing During a Pandemic

As a physician, I was deeply distressed by the content of yesterday's Variety article about AMC's plans to reopen on July 15.  In response, I put together an entire column analyzing AMC's supposed safety plans.  

Here's the concluding paragraph: "As a consequence of this choice, until the science tells me it’s safe to return to theaters, you won’t see reviews for movies here until they’re available on streaming services.  Does it bum me out that I’ll have to wait longer to see Tenet, and that my website traffic might take a hit?  Absolutely.  But knowing that film reviews are free movie publicity, I ethically cannot contribute to AMC’s, Christopher Nolan’s, and Warner Brothers’ revenue streams.  Even in a small way, I won’t be complicit in their decisions to place profit over public safety."

I'd love to hear others' response to this, but just as much, I hope other critics will join me in my choice.

Here's my full article:  https://www.patheos.com/blogs/secularcinephile/2020/06/sorry-folks-but-moviegoing-during-a-pandemic-is-unsafe-and-irresponsible/

To be an artist is never to avert one's eyes.
- Akira Kurosawa

https://www.patheos.com/blogs/secularcinephile/

Posted (edited)

I'll give this a bump.  I've just asked the President of the Southeast Film Critics Association if he'd consider an organized action where we'd refuse to cover films receiving a theater-only release.  This was inspired by his writing an article of his own in a similar vein to mine:  https://collider.com/movie-theaters-reopening-why-you-shouldnt-go/?fbclid=IwAR10oF34zxluH2RCGQsK-Cw21KYNzxgnf-rcGR9Gf9mgymcCOFXMvedJsvM

Ken, how about something similar for the North Carolina Film Critics Association?  North Carolina is one of five southern states that just saw their highest 7-day bump in new COVID cases, while Tennessee just had its largest single-day increase yesterday.

Edited by Andrew

- Akira Kurosawa

4 hours ago, Andrew said: