Sign in to follow this  
Darryl A. Armstrong

From Aesthetics to Practice: How does Art Affect Your Life?

So, how does art practically affect your life? For those who teach or create or criticize, there are fairly obvious answers. But what about the layman? He goes to see a movie or he listens to an album or he reads a book -- then what? How do the ideas presented in art manifest themselves in everday life?

Art influences culture which then influences art which then influences culture which then...it's just turtles all the way, baby! Whenever anyone sees a movie, they're a part of this chain.

Though I am not a musician and can not quite read music, music is inescapable and constant in my life. Even background music (ie. the stuff played for manipulative atmosphere in stores, elevators, etc.) gives me pause. I cannot help but listen and critique, weary as I may be of a particularly overplayed song or arrangement. I would say that my own particular aesthetic sensibility is a major influence on many of my choices in life. I have read The Jerusalem Bible since 1973 for precisely aesthetic reasons. It is a bit weak on Old Testament poetry, but incomparable for narrative and New Testament epistles IMO. No modern translation comes close for beauty and clarity.

Rich, I think you're hitting on what I was asking about. When a person hears a song or sees a movie of visual artistic image, how does that affect them? Does it impact their thoughts? Does it go so far as to impact the way they relate and react to the world around them?

I'm asking these questions because I see a lot of people who will watch a movie and afterwards merely state, "That was good," or "I didn't like it so much." But do these movies have a larger effect on a more subtle level on these people that manifests itself some other way?