Sign in to follow this  
SZPT

Who wants to market themselves as a "Christian Filmmake

I was going to ask who wants to be known as a "Christian Filmmaker," to which my own response would be "not me." But that would seem hypocritical considering I am a Christian and that I am a filmmaker discussing this very issue (and in a Christian filmmaker's forum no less).

So I thought about it and came up with a better way to ask my question. Is there any more clarification needed on my part? :twitch2:

My answer is still, "not me."

My reasoning is that I believe the Film industry looks at "Christian Films" and thus, "Christian filmmakers" as 2nd-class citizens and they will never give them a chance in the big leagues.

Some "Christian Filmmakers" are OK with this. Some Christians who are filmmakers feel trapped by the perception. Some Christians feel like the have to hide their love away (to paraphrase the Beatles).

I know that I have scare quotes aplenty around "Christian Film/makers." I'm simply referring to those films that have been marketed as such. Whether they portray the Gospel, or display Christian thinking/theology is very much up for debate (i.e. The Omega Code, Megiddo, Carman's The Champion, even A Walk to Remember and the upcoming The Passion).

Much more can be said (and hopefully will be), so I'll stop here.

Read around my friend. You'll find few propogators of a Christian film industry in these parts. Christian filmmakers spoken in these threads generally just means Chirstians who are filmmakers. Like Christian Mechanics or Christian Fishmongers.

Around here we hope for a day when CF means that they have a better understanding from where their inspiration comes and that they hold themselves to a higher standard of excellence as they understand they're imitating the first and greatest artist. But we're a long way from there.

you'll also find very few people who are worried about "marketing themselves" as anything around here.